Bacon Whiskey

1 07 2011

I discovered a new technique last week called Nitrogen Cavitation or Nitrogen Infusions, which allow liquids to absorb the flavor, and only the flavor, of something aromatic with a nitrogen charge. (Think basil, mint, coffee beans, etc…)

My thoughts instantly took me to what sorts of ingredients I would want only the flavor from and nothing more… obviously things with a high caloric count like chocolate,  or… things that just aren’t good for you but taste heavenly… BACON! And what sort of liquid would I want tasting like bacon? Certainly not water, that wouldn’t be refreshing. Most definitely… WHISKEY!

Ingredients:

4 strips bacon, cooked

1 cup whiskey

1 N2O charger

Directions:

Place 4 strips of bacon in the ISI Whip canister and pour in 1 cup of whiskey.  Screw on the Nitrogen (N20) charger, and the whiskey will absorb the bacon flavors without giving you those extra unwanted calories.  Let the whiskey sit for about 15 minutes for the flavors to fully develop, then place in freezer for 5 minutes. Strain through a cheese cloth or fine mesh strainer to remove any bits of bacon remnants and enjoy!

Feeling extra frisky? Pour the Bacon Whiskey back in the ISI Whip,  give it a CO2 charge, and presto… Carbonated Bacon Whiskey!

With the first of my Nitrogen Infusion experiments a success, I can’t stop thinking about how else I want to use this brilliant technique.  Caramel Champagne anyone? Cinnamon Chardonnay?

CONCLUSION: The flavors are strongest after 20 minutes, and it’s definitely worth the wait!

Actions

Information

43 responses

1 07 2011
Watermelon & Cucumber Salad with Instant Basil Infusion « Breaking The Mold

[…] bringing back out the Nitrogen Cavitation,  as introduced in Bacon Whiskey, I instantly infused watermelon balls and cucumbers with […]

20 07 2011
cevon

I never thought of it that way, well put!

24 07 2011
Bacon for Barfy - Page 4

[…] […]

24 07 2011
andrew gillette

Interesting article and good lead in to the instructables posting. You call your process nitrogen cavitation, but don’t you mean nitrisoxide cavitation? Nitrogen is readily available at bottle gas stores but n2o is of course not. Would you please clarify?

25 07 2011
Brianne Michelle

Hi Andrew,
Yes you’re correct! They’re actually Nitrous Oxide chargers (http://www.amazon.com/iSi-N2O-Cream-Chargers-24-Pack/dp/B00007JXR4), however the people who first started experimented with this process to infuse liquids last Aug (2011) coined the term Nitrogen Cavitation. I completely agree with you but out of respect to the inventors, I’ve been using their terminology. I’ll post their link once I find where I saved it!
Thanks!!

24 07 2011
Ethan

Where can I get a nitrogen infuser? I haven’t had much luck with Google, just garage tools.

Thanks,
Ethan

25 07 2011
Brianne Michelle

Hi Ethan!
The tool you’ll need for nitrogen infusions or charges is a whip cream canister. I have the iSi whip, and love it… but any whip will work. You can buy them at Amazon or http://www.isinorthamerica.com/foodservice/products/gourmet-whip-plus.
Couple direct links: Whip-it $37 (http://www.webstaurantstore.com/whip-it-1-liter-professional-cream-whipper/407WHC32.html?utm_source=Amazon&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=Amazon+Campaign)

iSi whip- $77 http://www.amazon.com/iSi-Creative-Polished-Stainless-Dessert/dp/B002H3NFNM/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1311614023&sr=8-2

And then you can choose whether you want to buy the CO2 chargers (to carbonate) or the N2O chargers (to nitrogenate). These can be found on Amazon.com for pretty inexpensive (approx $5-$8 for a pack of 10 chargers). Both are interchangeable with the whips!

24 07 2011
Michael

I would be interested in tasting Mocha Vodka, Godiva Vodka, etc. Is this something I can concoct in my own kitchen?

25 07 2011
Brianne Michelle

Hi Michael,
This is definitely something to experiment with! As long you have the tools needed (see above comment) then play around with different liquid/aromatic combinations. Vodka will most definitely work, as will coffee beans… however I’m unsure as to how well the chocolate can and will impart it’s flavors on the vodka. Maybe if you cut a chocolate bar into chunks for extra surface area and partially heat (as in 3 seconds in microwave) it will increase its aroma enough. I’ll definitely have to give this a try… if you test it out first, let me know how it works out for you!
Thanks!
Brianne

24 07 2011
all three

good post.stock market,

24 07 2011
Jan at Wassi's Meat Market

Would go great with the Chocolate Covered Bacon that we make in our store! Where do I go to get one of these apparatisis to infuse flavors??

25 07 2011
Brianne Michelle

Hi Jan!
Not just great…. PERFECT!
See below comment for info on where to buy.
Thanks!
Brianne

24 07 2011
Brian

No link to a nitrogen charger? Maybe I’m just slow on the uptake but a quick Google search doesn’t really turn up much for “nitrogen charger”. Maybe mention they can be searched under whip cream chargers (or can they?), for food tech newbies like me. Thanks!

Like this one? http://www.amazon.com/iSi-Cream-Professional-Whipper-2416/dp/B0001MRZWI

25 07 2011
Michael

Hi Brian,

Search for ISI Whip Canister, but you’ve already found the best source.

It’s also a great way to make cheap wine, cider, etc. into an expensive sparkling drink.

25 07 2011
Brianne Michelle

Hi Brian,
The tool you’ll need for nitrogen infusions or charges is a whip cream canister. I have the iSi whip, and love it… but any whip will work. You can buy them at Amazon or http://www.isinorthamerica.com/foodservice/products/gourmet-whip-plus.
Couple direct links: Whip-it $37 (http://www.webstaurantstore.com/whip-it-1-liter-professional-cream-whipper/407WHC32.html?utm_source=Amazon&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=Amazon+Campaign)

iSi whip- $77 http://www.amazon.com/iSi-Creative-Polished-Stainless-Dessert/dp/B002H3NFNM/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1311614023&sr=8-2

And then you can choose whether you want to buy the CO2 chargers (to carbonate) or the N2O chargers (to Nitrogenate). These can be found on Amazon.com for pretty inexpensive (approx $5-$8 for a pack of 10 chargers). Both are interchangeable with the whips!

1 08 2011
matt laclear seo

I agree 100%

1 08 2011
matt laclear seo

I never thought of it that way, well put!

1 08 2011
matt laclear

I didn’t know that.

1 08 2011
matt laclear

I never thought of it that way, well put!

2 08 2011
matt laclear

Right on!

2 08 2011
matt laclear seo

Thank you for a great post.

2 08 2011
matt laclear

I agree 100%

2 08 2011
matt laclear seo

I didn’t know that.

2 08 2011
matt laclear seo

Good points

2 08 2011
matt laclear seo

Right on!

2 08 2011
matt laclear

Thank you for a great post.

4 08 2011
my article

I never thought of it that way, well put!

4 08 2011
Childhood depression

That’s really interesting. Thanks for posting all the great information! Had never thought of it all that way before.
My website is on Depression definition.

18 08 2011
Britt Bewley

Excellent weblog!

19 08 2011
Frankie Churchman

By no means thought of it that way.

20 08 2011
Kittie Diven

Wow! That is an exciting slant.

20 08 2011
Lucienne Nasseri

Excellent thoughts

20 08 2011
Nicolas Condry

My thoughts precisely!

20 08 2011
Dona Harell

Right on!

20 08 2011
Harold Linginfelter

Nicely put from a fantastic blogger

20 08 2011
Eldon Cea

Wonderful thoughts

20 08 2011
Zane Scialdone

Fascinating views concerning that!

20 08 2011
Tony Gasner

Thank you for a great post.

20 08 2011
Vaughn Garelick

Right on my man!

20 08 2011
Rudolph Gingery

Good points

20 08 2011
Sabra Toper

You my comrade are a genius

15 02 2013
Casper

I would love to try this out, but can’t figure out what exactly to do by the desciption.
The bacon goes inside the canister. But does the whiskey go inside too? And then you use 1 charger? Maybe a video would help haha!
Thanks in advance, the idea is genius!

27 06 2013
Felica

Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest authoring on
other websites? I have a blog based on the same information you discuss
and would really like to have you share some stories/information.
I know my visitors would value your work. If you are even
remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

Leave a Reply

